Public Holidays in Tasmania

Important information

The 10 public holidays in Tasmania are New Years Day, Australia Day, Eight Hours Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Anzac Day, Queen's Birthday, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, Royal Hobart Regatta (South), Recreation Day (North).

The Statutory Holidays Act 2000 is the act that determines the dates on which these days will fall. It does not provide the right to have the day off work - that comes from your award or agreement.

**Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday currently observed by certain awards/agreements and the Tasmanian State Service. If you are working or operating in the private sector and are unclear whether your award or agreement provides for a paid day off for Easter Tuesday then please ring the Fair Work Infoline on 13 13 94.

Tasmanians also receive a Show Day holiday as a local public holiday.  Dates and details for your area can be found within the holiday listings.

Devonport and Launceston Cup days are generally public service holidays only - check your award or agreement for entitlements.

Where there is reference to a private sector award or agreement in relation to a public holiday, please check your award or agreement or call the Fair Work Infoline on 13 13 94 to determine your eligibility.

Public Holidays 2017

Public Holidays 2018

Public Holidays 2019

Previous years public holidays

School Term Dates:

Daylight Saving: