The Royal Society of Tasmania


The mission of the Royal Society of Tasmania is “The advancement of knowledge” and its priorities are:

  • Promoting Tasmanian historical, scientific and technological knowledge for the benefit of Tasmanians,
  • Fostering Tasmanian public engagement and participation in the quest for objective knowledge,
  • Recognising excellence in academia and supporting Tasmanian academic excellence, and
  • Providing objective advice for policy relating to Tasmanian issues.

Drawing its inspiration from the illustrious original Royal Society founded in London in 1660, the Royal Society of Tasmania is the oldest royal society outside the United Kingdom, having had a continuing existence since 1843.

The membership of the Royal Society of Tasmania is open to all and members, coming from many walks of life, have a variety of interests. We value the opportunity to meet, hear and talk to specialists with knowledge beyond our individual fields of interest.

The priorities of the Society are addressed through lecture programmes, panel discussions, symposia, excursions, publications (including the peer reviewed annual journal “Papers and Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania”), and our library. Eminent scholars are recognised through various awards and bursaries.

In its early years the Society established the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens and a museum which formed the basis of today’s Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, with both of which institutions it maintains a close association.

Now 170 years old, the Society has a current membership of about 350 from throughout Tasmania and beyond, and meets in Hobart and Launceston. The Society is administered by a Council comprising elected and ex officio members.

The Royal Society of Tasmania is established under its own Act of the Tasmanian Parliament, permitting it to create its own By-Laws. The Patron of the Society is Her Excellency, Professor, the Honourable Kate Warner AM  Governor of Tasmania .

The Society is currently based in the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, Hobart, (Davey Street Entrance). The Society’s Library is based within the University of Tasmania Morris Miller Library, Sandy Bay Campus.

The Northern Chapter is based at the Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.