You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Mon Aug 04 11:55:32 AEST 2014
print title

Premier's Reading Challenge

10 June to 18 August 2014

Week Eight reviews

<< Previous   1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   Next >>

Book review by CC

Weir Do by Anh Do
Reviewed by CC, aged 8

Rating: 4 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
A boy who's first name is Weir and his last name is Do. And obviously that makes WEIRDO!!!!!!! He always gets bullied at new schools.

What I like about this book is...
That it is funny and I like the pictures.

What I don't like about this book is...
I like EVERTHING about the books.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by Chelsea

Shark's big surprise by A.H. Benjamin
Reviewed by Chelsea, aged 8

Rating: 4 out of 5

This book is...
scary

This book is about...
No one wants to play with me!!! Says Shark.He sets off with a big bag and cunning plan and collects lots of terrified along the way. What could sharks big surprise be?

What I like about this book is...
That the shark is nice.

What I don't like about this book is...
That the shark put some sea animals in a bag.

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by M&M

George's marvellous medicine by Roald Dahl
Reviewed by M&M, aged 7

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
funny

This book is about...
when geoge makes some horeble medicine for gradma and she drinks it and truns big and then small.

What I like about this book is...
when gradma gets big and then small.

What I don't like about this book is...
when gradma is mean when she has geoge on her own and she is nice when his mum and dad are here

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by Foxie

The dog on the tuckerbox by Corinne Fenton
Reviewed by Foxie, aged 10

Rating: 4 out of 5

This book is...
sad

This book is about...
Bill and Lady , Lady is a dog and Bill usher master.One day Bill said say on the tuckerbox and thats what Lady did. bill never returned

What I like about this book is...
Because Lady obeyed Bill. the pictures are very very good

What I don't like about this book is...
It would be good if it was a novel

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by wraps

Spooked by Susannah Mcfarlane
Reviewed by wraps, aged 11

Rating: 3 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
Ej and her gang go on a marvelous mission to save history of her great great great great great grandma and stop shadow the evil enemy's .But will she do it or is she to afraid of ghosts.

What I like about this book is...
the clever idea of making projections of ghosts to help still the gold.

What I don't like about this book is...
nothing it was lovely

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by J0n3sm

The land of stories : The enchantress returns by Chris Colfer
Reviewed by J0n3sm, aged 11

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
two children whose names are Conner and Alex. A year ago they found out that their father was from the fairytale world where the characters from fairytales live. In the sequel to the wishing spell, in this book a new character arrives. The Enchantress returns!!!

What I like about this book is...
how well Chris Colfer writes. He really describes the situation in a realistic form, while it is completely fantasy. I also love his reasons for why fairytale characters and their nemesis's do the evil and good thing that they do.

What I don't like about this book is...
nothing. This book ticks all the boxes.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by JimmySimmyTimmy

Matilda by Roald Dahl
Reviewed by JimmySimmyTimmy, aged 10

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
Matilda Wormwood is an English girl who is obviously a genius but is treated like an idiot by her parents. She goes to school and her talent is realised by her teacher, Miss Honey. Matilda discovers a power of hers with which she can make things levitate, and uses this to embarass the principal Miss Trunchbul into leaving the school. Miss Honey is the Trunchbull's niece, and inherits her estate. Matilda leaves her cruel parents and goes to live with Miss Honey.

What I like about this book is...
I like books that have a big comeback at the end, and this is definitely one of these. As with all Roald Dahl books, it is very descriptive and uses direct speech to its full extent.

What I don't like about this book is...
Any body who writes anything bad here is Miss Trunchbull!

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by Mungo

Gone by Michael Grant
Reviewed by Mungo, aged 11

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
This a dark book were all the adults disappear. Every one under the age of 15 are stuck in a inpenitble grey bubble. A kid called Sam and Caine develep powers and will fight...

What I like about this book is...
It is a nucking bighting book.

What I don't like about this book is...
Nothing.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by gabby

The Picts and the Martyrs by Arthur Ransome
Reviewed by gabby, aged 12

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
The picts and the martyrs is the 9th book in the swallows and amazons series, set during WW2 in England. The series is about children, some of whom's fathers are soldiers, who spend their summer holidays at a lake sailing together and go on all kinds of adventures. The Picts and the Martyrs features 4 of these children, two of them trying to stay undetected by the other two's great aunt, who doesn't aprove of fun.

What I like about this book is...
Because it is set a long time ago it gives you a glimps of what life was like back then, and what they did to amuse themselves with games about pirates, explorers and sailors.

What I don't like about this book is...
the thing i don't like about this book.. is that it has an ending.:(

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014

Book review by Ferg

Watership down by Richard Adams
Reviewed by Ferg, aged 11

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
Good rabbits fighting a war against bad rabbits.

What I like about this book is...
This book is one of those books that make you want to read a little bit more

What I don't like about this book is...
There is nothing that i dont like about this book.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 31 Jul 2014