You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Mon Aug 04 11:55:28 AEST 2014
print title

Premier's Reading Challenge

10 June to 18 August 2014

Week Six reviews

<< Previous   1 2   Next >>

Book review by Karate Kid!

Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks (Heather Rose and Danielle Wood)
Reviewed by Karate Kid!, aged 12

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
When twelve year old Tuesday, arrives home from school to find that her mother has disappeared to somewhere that her father won't tell her where, Tuesday gets worried. She enters Serendipity's writing room and experiments with her old, brittle but useable type writer. Silver strings with words, the words that she types, appear, hovering at Tuesday's height. They grab her and take her to the land of story where she meets, Vivienne Small, the main character in her mothers book, and befriends her.

What I like about this book is...
This book is fantastic as it is not Dark, yet still action packed, building heaps of anxiety in you, making you want to keep reading to find out what is going to happen next. It is full of action, adventure and absolute admiration and that's only the A's! I find it intriguing that two people write this book, when the writing style is the same throughout the book. It is an intelligent plot. It is great as the novel has an absurd theme and plot.

What I don't like about this book is...
I could not find a fault in the book. It is phenomenal, amazing and I wouldn't be surprised if it was the best book I have ever read. I want more! Another book by Angelica would be great!

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 18 Jul 2014

Book review by Bubblyme!

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
Reviewed by Bubblyme!, aged 10

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
A 12 year old girl named September who is whisked away to Fairyland on a leopard with the Green Wind. As she passes through the land, she meets the terrible Marquess who is the current ruler of Fairyland. September meets many friends such as A-through-L, half a library, half a Wyvern- a Wyverary! She meets Saturday, a sea Mardi and throughout the novel becomes very good companions.

What I like about this book is...
The lovely description of the base, the way Valente describes the place of Fairyland is not a girly, pink place, so that one would think it made for girls, but a place of all colours and danger. This makes it very readable for everybody. The last few chapters were probably some of the best chapters I have ever read because of the amazing twists.

What I don't like about this book is...
I personally do not think I dislike this book, although some of the illustrations were slightly creepy. Others may find the entrance of the story boring and the description hard to understand, so I recommend this book for strong readers.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 18 Jul 2014

Book review by Karate Kid!

Dragonkeeper by Coraline Wilkinson
Reviewed by Karate Kid!, aged 12

Rating: 4 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
A nameless orphan is mistreated in an imperial palace hut. She is left handed, is unsure of her age and has not been educated. Lurking around, belongs an ancient - 3000 year old dragon, being looked after by the girl and her malevolent master. Eating little, the master and the orphan are extremely underprivileged, despite living on palace grounds. A story of how the orphan and the dragon, escape to the unknown meeting hunters, necromancers and other villains eventually finding refuge.

What I like about this book is...
Dragon Keeper, being an absurd plot, is interesting for that exact reason. It is not a feminine fashioned plot but an jam-packed book with a plot that both male and female of all ages would enjoy. Set in Ancient China, this novel educates one of the history and what it would be like in another part of the world in a contrasting time zone.

What I don't like about this book is...
Nothing in this book, is seriously unenjoyable, but their are a few minor things that I would change. I would, if being very picky, make it slightly shorter, though adding slightly more of the action and adventure as that to me was the best part of the book, though for some they may dislike the blood and gore. There is a good balance of calm, descriptive story lines and harsh and brutal character acts.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 18 Jul 2014

Book review by Kai

The Middle Of Nowhere by S.A.FREUD
Reviewed by Kai, aged 11

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
This book is about a boy called Shaun that just moved from the city in Sydney and has just moved into the outback. Shaun has had a lot of problems since he moved,bullies are non stop bullying him,his dad made a bonfire that went out of control and burnt half his land and half a mountain and lost the orienteering race because the bully Roy pushed him over and they came last.one good thing has happened to Shaun he met a really nice friend called Henley that is a very very good friend.

What I like about this book is...
What I like about this book is that Shaun has created such a good friendship with Henley and they both try to stay positive no matter what happened.

What I don't like about this book is...
I don't like that the bully Roy is so mean and made them lose the orienteering race.

Review submitted 18 Jul 2014

Book review by Euni

Best Friends by Jacqueline Wilson
Reviewed by Euni, aged 8

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
happy

This book is about...
Gemma and Alice have been best friends ever since they were born. They share everything, even their biggest secrets. One day Gemma finds out that Alice is keeping a secret. When Gemma discovers it she's not sure if they can stay best friends forever. Gemma's mum tells her to try and find a new best friend. Grown-ups don't understand how hard it can be. They just say 'cheer up you'll find a best friend in no time'. Sometimes they are right. But sometimes grown-ups can be a 100 percent wrong. It

What I like about this book is...
that they still get to stay best friends forever.

What I don't like about this book is...
that Alice has to move away.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 16 Jul 2014

Book review by Euni

Best Friends by Jacqueline Wilson
Reviewed by Euni, aged 8

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
happy

This book is about...
Gemma and Alice have been best friends ever since they were born. They share everything, even their biggest secrets. One day Gemma finds out that Alice is keeping a secret. When Gemma discovers it she's not sure if they can stay best friends forever. Gemma's mum tells her to try and find a new best friend. Grown-ups don't understand how hard it can be. They just say 'cheer up you'll find a best friend in no time'. Sometimes they are right. But sometimes grown-ups can be a 100 percent wrong. It

What I like about this book is...
that they still get to stay best friends forever.

What I don't like about this book is...
that Alice has to move away.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 16 Jul 2014

Book review by Tall Lady

The wrong boy by Suzy Zail
Reviewed by Tall Lady, aged 11

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
sad

This book is about...
A young teenage girl and her family take on a huge step by being taken to a horrible place called Akeniu, because of war. There on the young teen finds the boy of her dreams and ends up with a sad ending, because of the death of her parents, her boyfriend being taken away and no home. Fortunately she sill has her sister to take care of and somebody to love. I recommend this 13+ because it shows how a teen girl lives.

What I like about this book is...
I like the detail of the authors message of the book. I like it how you feel the emotions they're feeling. You slightly understand what they're going through but still you are not really feeling how desperate they were to get out and live a better life.

What I don't like about this book is...
There wasn't much I didn't like but I would of considered adding more to the ending, finding out if she was ever to find her true love again or finally say goodbye to her parents and buried them as all people do to those who pass.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 14 Jul 2014

Book review by nat

The cabbage patch fib by Paul Jennings
Reviewed by nat, aged 9

Rating: 4 out of 5

This book is...
funny

This book is about...
A boy wants to know where do babys come fromand dad said ummm you find it in the cabage patch ok ill go tonight. then at night the boy went to the the patch to find a baby with his brother when they looked and looke found one the boy said.when he gave it to brother the baby turned purple.he cant breath he said give it to me. then it was normal.a few days later he got sick of looking the baby.

What I like about this book is...
it is a great book.

What I don't like about this book is...
i dont get how the baby gets in the cabage patch when the dad said well they come in the cabage patch.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 14 Jul 2014

Book review by joe

Harry Potter and the philosophers stone by J.K. Rowling
Reviewed by joe, aged 7

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
scary

This book is about...
A defence against the dark arts teacher called Quirrell. the philosophers stone is a Elixir of life which makes gold and it makes you live forever. harry goes to the third floor their is a three headed dog and if you play it music it will go to sleep.

What I like about this book is...
Harry Ron and Hermione going through the passage Hermione dealing with the plant Ron dealing with the chess and Harry dealing with the broom stick and dealing with Lord Voldemort.

What I don't like about this book is...
Lord Voldemort attacking Harry.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 13 Jul 2014

Book review by joe

The very naughty velociraptor by Nick Falk
Reviewed by joe, aged 7

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
funny

This book is about...
A boy who hade a rotten and filthy Grandma who came to stay for three weeks. she fed them brussel sprouts which they don't like so they gave the brussel sprouts to their Dog Wiggins while she wasn't looking. and when he was about to give a brussel sprout something was biting him it was a velociraptor.

What I like about this book is...
they have thinking caps. and when you put them on you think about stuff.

What I don't like about this book is...
nothing.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 13 Jul 2014