You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Mon Aug 04 11:55:23 AEST 2014
print title

Premier's Reading Challenge

10 June to 18 August 2014

Week Three reviews

<< Previous   1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20   Next >>

Book review by Jose

Ruby Redfort : Look into my eyes by Lauren Child
Reviewed by Jose, aged 9

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
A thirteen year-old girl that is chosen to be a part of a secret agency called Spectrum. She is SpectrumÂ’s code cracker, but gets bored, and when that happens she gets into a lot of trouble.

What I like about this book is...
It is hard to stop reading it, and I can't put it down.

What I don't like about this book is...
nothing.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by squirrelflight/ freyfrey

Sunrise by Erin Hunter
Reviewed by squirrelflight/ freyfrey, aged 12

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
there is a prophecy that tells of three who shall hold more than the stars in their paws. Three cats, Jayfeather, Lionblaze and Hollyleaf find that they have special powers, they go through a lot to find out what the prophecy means but even then they don't know everything. Hollyleaf runs away from her fate and Jayfeather and Lionblaze are left to find the other cat that has its destiny tied to theirs. But in the dark shadows there is the biggest battle ever in the cat history brewing up!

What I like about this book is...
there is a lot of mystery and every time I have to put it away I just want to grab it back and keep reading. It fills me with wonder and amazement when I read because the book is written so well!! The authors give a very detailed visual picture

What I don't like about this book is...
Hollyleaf dies and also Tigerstar comes back.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by Mags

Tom Gates : Best day ever (so far) by Liz Pichon
Reviewed by Mags, aged 12

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
funny

This book is about...
A boy called tom who has a book parade and his mum is trying to make a biscuit tin costume

What I like about this book is...
I like that it is funny

What I don't like about this book is...
Nothing

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by Elsbeth

Parvana's promise by Deborah Ellis
Reviewed by Elsbeth, aged 11

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
sad

This book is about...
Parvanas Promise is the third book of a series. it is about a girls live living in an afghan army base. there are two sides to this story which switch between chapters, a happy side and a sad side. it has the details of what her life was like in an army base and all the different types of feelings and ideas she had. it gets huge images in your head of what it is really like living in Afghanistan.

What I like about this book is...
i like this book because............ it is so detailed and when i read it, it made me feel like i was actually there in the moment. it was as though i was her in fact. it made me think more about Afghanistan and the poverty that they live in. i also like the way the author split the book up in to the two sides of her life.

What I don't like about this book is...
at the start of the book they needed to explain that it was going to be split into to two different sides because that was a bit hard to understand at first.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by sash

Diary Of a Wimpy Kid : Dog Days by Jeff Kinney
Reviewed by sash, aged 10

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
funny

This book is about...
A boy called Greg in middle school going through ups and downs in his life. And is writing about them in his diary

What I like about this book is...
It is funny and has lots of cartoons

What I don't like about this book is...
I like all of the things about this book

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by T

Ophelia and the marvelous boy by Karen Foxlee
Reviewed by T, aged 9

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
a girl and a boy the boy gets his name taken off of him because he got chosen to save the world by eight wizards. him and the girl go on the adventure to kill the ice princess who is trying to take over the world.

What I like about this book is...
every thing

What I don't like about this book is...
i like the book

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by char

Bony-legs by Joanna Cole
Reviewed by char, aged 10

Rating: 4 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
Boney legs lives in the forest, every day she waits for children to come by. One day sashes mother sanded Sasha to get some thread and a needle. Sasha came upon a house with chicken legs, so she went up to the house Boney legs stuck her head out the window and told Sasha to come in, so she did the witch was going to cook her but Boney legs cat the played a trick on her, the dog didnÂ’t stop her and the fence did not lock her in because Sasha helped or feed all of them.

What I like about this book is...
i like everything about this book. boney-legs would probly by one of the best books that i've read.

What I don't like about this book is...
i like everything about this book

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by bell

Just disgusting by Andy Griffiths
Reviewed by bell, aged 9

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
funny

This book is about...
this boy and is name is Andy he wee's in pool's and talk's in burps and pick's his nose and he is really disgusting when he pick's his nose

What I like about this book is...
this book make's me laugh and giggle.

What I don't like about this book is...
nothing

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by young

The black duck by Eleanor Nilsson
Reviewed by young, aged 10

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
sad

This book is about...
A little duck lost its family and a boy came down to the lake and the duck goes to the boy and he looks after the duck and then he has to move houses and has to leave the duck behind. Will he ever see his pet again?

What I like about this book is...
Everything. It was sad, happy and a good book to read.

What I don't like about this book is...
nothing

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014

Book review by Issie

Murder, she barked by Krista Davis
Reviewed by Issie, aged 10

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is...
other

This book is about...
Holly Miller's life has gone to the dogs.She has no job,and her boyfriend's former flame is sniffing around.Just when she thought things couldn't get worse,a troubling phone call about her grandmother sends her rushing home to the family inn on Wagtail Mountain.But someone in this friendly town is bad to the bone. One of the employees at the in was killed in a hit-and-run accident-which is looking anything but accidental....

What I like about this book is...
It's funny and makes you hold your breath and hope for the best.

What I don't like about this book is...
Nothing.It's too good.

Find a copy of this book at your local LINC or library

Review submitted 27 Jun 2014