You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Tue Mar 04 13:23:50 AEDT 2014
Contact the Division on: (03) 6224 1015


In 1944, the Liberal Party of Australia was founded after a three-day meeting held in a small hall not far from Parliament House in Canberra. The meeting was called by the then leader of the Opposition (united Australia Party), Robert Menzies.

Robert Menzies had already served as Prime Minister of Australia (1939-40), but he believed that the non-labor parties should unite to present a strong alternative government to the Australian people. Eighty men and women from 18 non-labor political parties and organizations attended the first Canberra conference. They shared a common belief that Australians should have greater personal freedom and choice than that offered under Labors post war socialist plans.

Robert Menzies believed the time was right for a new political force in Australia one which fought for the freedom of the individual and produced enlightened liberal policies.

In his opening address at that meeting, he said:

...what we must look for, and it is a matter of desperate importance to our society, is a true revival of liberal thought which will work for social justice and security, for national power and national progress, and for the full development of the individual citizen, though not through the dull and deadening process of socialism.

It is often said that Robert Menzies stood for the forgotten people of Australia; those mainstream Australians whose goals, needs and aspirations had been ignored by the government. On October 16, 1944, the name The Liberal Party of Australia was adopted, uniting the many different political organizations. Two months later, at the Albury Conference, the Party's organisational and constitutional framework was drawn up. The name Liberal was chosen deliberately for its association with progressive nineteenth century enterprise and social equality.  By May 1945, membership of the Liberal Party had swelled to 40,000. It fought its first election in 1946 with some success and in 1947, the Liberal Party won State Government in Western Australia, South Australia and Victoria. In 1949, the Liberals, in coalition with the Country Party, were first elected to national government.

Sir Robert Menzies went on to lead Australia's most successful post-war party; it was elected to government for 23 years from 1949 to 1972, and for another term of more than seven years from 1975 to 1983. In 1996, the Australian people again re-elected the Liberal Party in Coalition with the National Party of Australia, to govern Australia. In 1998, 2001 and 2004 the Howard government has been re-elected, and governed until 2007.

On 18 September 2013, Tony Abbott was sworn in as Australia’s 28th Prime Minister after leading the Coalition to a landslide victory over the discredited Rudd-Gillard-Rudd Labor Government which delivered record debt and deficit to Australia. The Abbott Government was elected on a platform of delivering a strong, prosperous economy and a safe, secure Australia.