You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Wed Feb 26 14:46:37 AEDT 2014

Department of Treasury and Finance logo

Department of Treasury and Finance
Overview - Property transfer duty

What is duty?

Duty (previously known as “stamp duty”) is a form of taxation charged by the State Government, under the Duties Act 2001, when someone acquires an interest in property, usually by buying a property.

The type of property and the way it is acquired can impact the way that duty is assessed.

Property types subject to duty are:

Duty must normally be paid by the purchaser/transferee within three months of the transfer of the property.

Multiple purchases (aggregation) - where there is a series of, or multiple, transactions by the same transferee or transferee(s) who are associated persons within 12 months, these transactions may be grouped together, or aggregated, for the purposes of calculating duty.

Further information is available on:

The Taxation and Related Legislation (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act 2013

The Act received Royal Assent on Monday, 21 October 2013.
It amends the Duties Act 2001, the First Home Owner Grant Act 2000, the Land Tax Act 2000, and the Taxation Administration Act 1997.
For information about Duty on House and Land Packages, please read the guideline.
For more information about the amendments, please read the fact sheet.

Abolished Duties

Duty on goodwill and other non-real business assets was abolished on 1 July 2008. Calculation of duty on transactions after this date will exclude the value of non-dutiable items.

Mortgage Duty was abolished from 1 July 2007 as part of the 2005-06 Budget.

Tasmanian Revenue Online

- Registered users can self assess duty documents online through Tasmanian Revenue Online.