You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Wed Feb 19 13:27:34 AEDT 2014
Courts Tasmania


Who is eligible?

Generally speaking, every person who is enrolled on the State electoral roll, and resides in a gazetted jury district is qualified and liable to serve as a juror.

The gazetted jury districts are described in Governor-in-Council Order dated 12th December 2005 and published in the Tasmanian Government Gazette on 21st December 2005.

Some weeks before each sitting of the court the Sheriff randomly selects enough people from the long list that he deems sufficient to meet the needs of the court for that particular session. These people form a pool from which individuals may be picked to act as jurors on trials during the session.

A session is normally two weeks, but no more than three weeks, unless a particular trial runs longer.

Who is not eligible?


Some people are disqualified from serving on a jury.

They include police, officers, persons who were police officers in the last 10 years, practicing lawyers, and anyone connected with the investigation of crime, the administration of justice or the punishment of offenders.

In addition, you are disqualified from serving as a juror if you have a physical, intellectual or mental disability that makes you incapable of effectively performing the duties of a juror, or if you are unable to communicate in, or understand, the English language adequately.

You are also disqualified if you have been convicted of a crime or crimes in Tasmania or elsewhere and have been sentenced to a three or more year's imprisonment or detention. If the sentence was three months or more, but less than three years, the disqualification period is for five years after release from prison.

Persons in prison, undergoing a suspended prison sentence, doing community service orders or on parole are similarly disqualified from serving as jurors.

If you think you fit into one of the categories that are disqualified from serving as a juror please complete the attached statutory declaration and return it to the Sheriff, Supreme Court, Salamanca Place, Hobart.

If you are unsure if you are disqualified or have a query about jury service please contact the Sheriff.