You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Fri Feb 07 13:55:56 AEDT 2014
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Premier's Local Government Council

About the Premier's Local Government Council

The Premier's Local Government Council (PLGC) is a high-level forum for discussions between the State Government and local government on issues of statewide significance. It was established in 2000 and meets three times a year to discuss topical and continuing issues.

The PLGC comprises the Premier, who chairs the Council, the Minister for Local Government, the President of the Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT) and seven elected local government representatives from various Tasmanian councils.  Local Government representation on the PLGC is drawn from the General Management Committee of the Local Government Association of Tasmania. Members can be mayors, deputy mayors or councillors.

The Council is supported by an Officials Committee made up of State Government and local government officers.

PLGC and Officials Committee membership lists.

The PLGC is established by a protocol agreement, which sets out the principles of the PLGC, terms of reference, procedural matters, work program and consultation procedures. A revised Protocol Agreement was signed on 15 August 2012.

A communique is generally issued after each meeting.

PLGC communiques: 

Communiques from February 2000 to December 2010 are available to view here.

PLGC Minutes:

Following the revision of the Protocol Agreement in 2012, PLGC minutes are uploaded to this website when they have been confirmed by the PLGC commencing in 2012.