You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Fri Feb 07 13:55:34 AEDT 2014
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Local Government Division

The Local Government Division manages the State Government's important relationship with Local Government, and in particular with the Local Government Association of Tasmania.

The Division has 13 staff who provide policy and legal advice to the Premier, the Minister for Local Government and the Government and manage a range of programs that support State Government and Local Government cooperation.

The Local Government Division's programs include:

  • partnership agreements
  • development of the Local Government sector
  • executive support to the Premier's Local Government Council
  • executive support to the Local Government Board
  • representing Tasmania at the national Local Government and Planning Joint Committee
  • administration and review of legislation and regulations associated with Local Government
  • monitoring of council performance through the Key Performance Indicator report

Asset Management Policy

The Tasmanian Government released the Tasmanian Local Government Asset Management Policy (PDF, 375KB) on 20 February 2012. The Policy is an integral component of the State and Local Government's partnership on financial and asset managment to enhance the sustainability of Local Government.


Arrow grey blueOn this website you will find information on:


Information on the history of Local Government in Tasmania can be viewed here.

Business address:

Local Government Division
Department of Premier and Cabinet
Level 5, 15 Murray Street
Hobart TAS 7000

Mailing address:

GPO Box 123,
Hobart Tas 7001

Phone: 03 6232 7022
Fax:   03 6233 5685

Director of Local Government: 
Phillip Hoysted
03 6232 7014

Deputy Director Local Government Division:
Greg Brown
03 6232 7020