You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Thu Feb 06 13:26:52 AEDT 2014
Tasmanian Government Logo
Feature Image
Link to the Tas government site

Fair Trading

Consumer Affairs and Fair Trading comprises six branches:

  • Births, Deaths and Marriages
  • Communications
  • Compliance and Advisory
  • Rental Deposity Authority / Residential Tenancy Commissioner
  • Licensing
  • Registration Services

More detailed information on the operation of Consumer Affairs and Fair Trading can be found in About Us.


On 1 January 2011 the Trade Practices Act 1974 was renamed the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 replacing previous Commonwealth, State and Territory consumer protection legislation with a national consumer law: The Australian Consumer Law (ACL). Consumer Affairs and Fair Trading is reviewing this website and publications to reflect this change. Please ring 1300 65 44 99 if you require information or advice.