You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Fri Jan 11 14:46:29 AEDT 2013
Home | Further information | Fast facts

Fast facts

Map of Australia, with the state of Tasmania highlighted in redTasmania is an Australian state located 240km south of the eastern side of Australia. As well as the main island of Tasmania, the state also includes a number of smaller islands such as King Island and Flinders Island. The state capital is Hobart, located in the south-east of Tasmania, with a population of just over 200,000. Other major populated cities include Launceston (population c100,000), Devonport (population c21,000) and Burnie (population c19,000).

The Tasmanian Government

Governor: His Excellency the Honourable Peter Underwood AO
Premier: Lara Giddings MP
Deputy Premier: Bryan Green MP

General information:

Advanced search