You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Fri Jan 04 15:57:58 AEDT 2013


Rail Safety

About Us


General Information

Our Mission Statement

Our mission is to improve rail safety in Tasmania by:

  • ensuring rail operators have effective safety management systems,

  • monitoring the safety performance of the rail industry, and

  • taking action to ensure rail operators are operating safely.

National Reform

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed to establish a single national Rail Safety Regulator at its meeting in December 2009.  The regulator will be hosted by South Australia.

It is expected the Regulator will be established and functioning from 2013.  COAG agreed to resolve a number of policy, legislation, governance and funding issues in the implementation stage, including the role of the Territory and State Ministers.

Our Role

The Department's Rail safety Unit role in safety regulation is to;

  • Administer, audit and review the accreditation regime under the Rail Safety Act 2009;
  • Work with accredited railway organisations and other stakeholders involved in railway operations to improve rail safety in Tasmania;
  • Collect and publish information relating to rail safety;
  • Provide, or facilitate the provision of, advice, education and training in relation to rail safety;
  • Monitor, investigate and enforce compliance with the Rail Safety Act 2009


Location: 10 Murray Street, Hobart Tasmania 7000
Postal Address: GPO Box 936, Hobart Tasmania 7001
Phone: (03) 6233 4982
Fax: (03) 6233 6006