You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Mon Nov 05 11:31:28 AEDT 2012

All Content © CRC for Forestry 2007

Brad Potts lauded by Royal Society


Brad Potts and Adam Micolich

Dr Adam Micolich (second from left; winner of the Edgeworth David Medal, see below) and Prof Brad Potts (winner of the Clarke Medal) enjoy the Royal Society's hospitality with their partners, Dr Merlinde Kay (left) and Dr Wendy Potts (right).   The Edgeworth David Medal is awarded annually to a scientist under the age of 35 for distinguished contributions to Australian science.  Dr Adam Micolich, a senior lecturer in the UNSW School of Physics, is an outstanding young experimental scientist who works in the area of nanotechnology and ultrasmall semiconductors.  (Image: Robyn Stutchbury.)

­ ­Professor Brad Potts (UTAS) has been recognised formally for his outstanding research in Eucalyptus.  The Royal Society of New South Wale­s awards the prestigious Clarke Medal every year for distinguished work in natural sciences undertaken in (or on) the Australian Commonwealth and its territories.  An award for Botany is given every third year, with awards for geology and zoology being awarded in the intervening years.  Brad was awarded his medal at the ­Society’s annual dinner in Sydney on Friday 13th March 2009.  The Clarke Medal was created in memory of the Rev. William Branwhite Clarke, one of the first Co-Vice Presidents of the Royal Society of New South Wales (the ex-officio president at that time was the Governor of NSW).  The medals are cast in bronze, with the obverse side bearing a beautifully engraved portrait of the Rev. W.B. Clarke (see picture, below).

Brad joins ranks with some very famous and well-respected scientists.  For example, at the Society's Annual General Meeting on 12th May 1880, the names of the first three recipients of the Clarke Medal were announced. The Medal for 1878 was awarded to Professor Richard Owen of the British Museum, famous for his studies of Australian vertebrate fossils; for 1879 to Mr. George Bentham of the Royal Gardens Kew, who made a major contribution to the study of the Australian flora; and for 1880 to Professor T.H. Huxley of the Royal School of Mines, London, for his valuable contributions to the knowledge of the natural history of Australia.  Other recipients include famous botanists – many of whose names are associated with eucalypts - such as Baron Ferdinand von Mueller (1883), Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker (1885), Leonard Rodway (1918), Joseph Henry Maiden (1924) and, more recently, Lawrie Johnson (1979), Barbara Briggs (1994), Bob Hill (2002) and Mark Westoby (2005). Two other people (geologists) too famous to leave off the list include Sir Douglas Mawson (1936) and Prof. Sam Carey (1969).  A full list of recipients may be found at

Brad's Clarke Medal.


Congratulations Brad, from all at the CRC!  It is a very well-deserved award.

Click here to view press release.

Biobuzz issue eight, March 2009