You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Mon May 21 09:12:20 AEST 2012

Department of Treasury and Finance logo

Department of Treasury and Finance
State Grants Commission - About Us

The State Grants Commission (the Commission) is an independent statutory body that was established by State legislation, the State Grants Commission Act 1976. The primary function of the Commission is to make recommendations to the Treasurer concerning the distribution of Australian Government financial assistance grants (FAGs) to local government under the provisions of the Australian Government legislation, the Local Government (Financial Assistance) Act 1995.

The Australian Government provides estimated grant pools upon which the Commission bases its recommendations for each financial year. These estimated pools are adjusted at the end of the financial year to take account of actual movements in population and the Consumer Price Index. The estimated grant pools for the last three years are as follows:

Base Grant Component
Road Grant Component
$33 778 989
$35 052 032
$68 831 021
$32 444 945
$33 506 713
$65 951 658
$30 931 500
$31 487 907
$62 419 407

Full details of the 2011-12 recommendations and the recommendations for previous years can be found in the relevant annual reports on the publications page.

Administrative support for the Commission is provided by the Department of Treasury and Finance. All costs associated with the administration of the Commission including Commissioner's stipends, wages, meeting costs and travel expenses are met by the Department, and are not deducted from the grant pools.

The Secretary of the Commission is Mr Rod Malcomson who is based within the Intergovernment and Financial Policy Branch, of the Department of Treasury and Finance. Enquiries regarding the activities of, or methodology used by the Commission should be directed to:

The Secretary
State Grants Commission
GPO Box 147

Tel: 03 6233 8988
Fax: 03 6233 5690