You are viewing an archived copy of this website captured Tue Mar 23 10:01:53 AEDT 2010

Lisa Singh

Lisa Singh

Lisa Singh was born in Hobart in 1972 and has lived in the Denison electorate most of her life. Lisa was elected to the Labor Government in 2006 and is currently Minister for Corrections and Consumer Protections and Minister for Workplace Relations. Lisa’s electorate office is located in Claremont.

Lisa completed her secondary education at St Mary's college and Elizabeth College in Hobart and completed a Bachelor of Arts with Honours degree at the University of Tasmania in 1996.

Lisa’s values of compassion, equity, respect for diversity, and the pursuit of peace and prosperity have led to a life of service, in the union movement, the non-government sector, the public service, and as an advisor to both Federal and State Labor Members of Parliament.

Lisa’s commitment to social justice has also inspired her to be actively involved in various community organisations, including being a past-President of United Nations Association of Australia (Tasmania) and former Convenor of the Tasmanian branch of the Australian Republican Movement.

Lisa has been active in the peace movement in Hobart and in 2004 was awarded Hobart Citizen of the Year for her peace activism against the war in Iraq. She has been a women's rights activist in the areas of women's health and women and work, and was the former Director of the Tasmanian Working Women's Centre.

Lisa was first elected to the Tasmanian Parliament in March 2006. In April 2008, Lisa became Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier. In November 2008, she became Minister for Corrections and Consumer Protection and Minister for Workplace Relations.

Lisa’s vision for Tasmania is a community that is inclusive, fair and provides an opportunity for all people to achieve their potential. Lisa is a strong and compassionate advocate of working people and for ensuring the human rights of all people are respected.

Contact Details

Executive Building Level 10,
15 Murray Street


Ph: 6233 2641
Fax: 6233 8013